my article

I am currently studying  hospitality at carnegie college and  am always looking forward to  building on what i have already learned and continuing  my journey into the world of food and drink.  I visited the good food show in October and found this to be a wonderful experience wandering around surrounded by great inspirational chefs and  people who all share their one Passion food and Drink.

After having established myself on twitter by just being me  and writing articles about places ive eaten my college etc  i have some amazing  chefs and people following me on twitter. im hoping to build on that experience. my twitter is @rona_grieve and my blog is http://www.ronagrieve.wordpress.com

Winter is well and truly upon us theres nothing better than switching from Cold salads and Starters to good Tasty Winter warmer Food.  Soups are so easy to make you just throw everything in a pot and leave overnight.  stews are the same  and steamed puddings are all tasty in winter and warm you up too after a cold day These are economical and good  for you as generally they  contain lots of vegetables and pulses.

Christmas party season is just round the corner and we should use the most of local restaurants and entertainment venues with a lot of them offering a special festive menu and already gearing up for the festive season. they are one of the busiest times of year so may be advisable to book to avoid disappointment grab your family and friends and go out eat,drink and be merry. I will be reviewing some of these places soon

I really love what i do and enjoy being in the kitchen most of all,This week at college  has been really busy we have made cream sponges christmas cakes  pasta dishes and fruit loafs.

I have  a lovely recipe here. This is one of my all time favourites and so easy to make  put it all in one pot and let cook in a slow cooker on a low setting all night result beautiful soup

Serves 4

Split pea and Ham Soup(c) andreas beck Picture was Taken at Alimentum

1lb of split yellow peas

2 carrots diced

1 large potato  diced

2 onions finely chopped

2 sticks of celery diced

a ham hock or bone

4 rashers of bacon diced

10 cups of water

2 bay leaves

Method:

put all the ingredients into a slow cooker and leave overnight. in the morning remove the ham bone and any meat that  will come off it into the soup   and remove bay leaves  liquidize if you require a finer soup this is personal preference really add some thyme  and serve piping hot.

I look forward to sharing my journey more with you into this world and   if you have any ideas or suggestions etc please email me Rona_grieve@hotmail.co.uk

With thanks to Andreas Beck (C) for the kind use of the picture Taken at Alimentum

His blog can be seen here http://karohemd.dreamwidth.org

One thought on “my article

  1. naturally like your web site but you have to take a look at the spelling on several of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very bothersome to tell the truth on the other hand I’ll surely come back again.

Leave a Reply

